Need The Best IT Services In Colorado Springs?

Call Us Today!

(719) 355-2440

Published On: December 21, 2020 by Blake Schwank

CMMC Consulting & CMMC Services In Colorado Springs

Cases of cyberattacks are continually rising, and each subsequent attack seems more severe and sophisticated than the former. The threat to the Department of Defense is increasingly becoming alarming due to the recent cyber warfare activities carried out by criminals. A cyberattack within the Defense Industrial Base (DIB) supply chain would result in devastating losses in controlled unclassified information (CUI) and intellectual property.

According to a report, in 2019, the US military experienced 83 data breaches, which resulted in the exposure of 3.6 million sensitive records and accounted for 5.6% of the year’s total breaches. To enhance cybersecurity, the federal government has developed the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC).

Check out our latest video to learn more about CMMC:

YouTube video

What Exactly Is the CMMC, and What Role Does it Play in Your Business?

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) is a new unified standard, implemented by the Department of Defense (DOD), designed to ensure cybersecurity controls are implemented across the DIB and all the companies in the supply chain. This mechanism is designed to ensure that cybersecurity processes and controls are correctly implemented to ensure that CUI that resides on DIB systems and networks are adequately protected.

Late last year, the Department of Defense announced that contractors who provide services and products within the DIB would be required to comply with the CMMC version 1.0 that was later released on January 31, 2020. The CMMC contains cybersecurity best practices from several cybersecurity frameworks, standards, references, and inputs from DoD and DIB stakeholders.

How Does CMMC Affect Your Business? The CMMC is mandatory for all groups doing business with the Department of Defense at any level, from prime contractors to subcontractors. These two entities must demonstrate that the laid-out cybersecurity standards have been sufficiently implemented by completing validation activities.

Previously, contractors and subcontractors were responsible for monitoring, implementing, and certifying their IT systems’ security and any sensitive DoD data stored on or transmitted by those systems. Although contractors are still responsible for implementing their cybersecurity controls, CMMC requires a third-party assessment of the contractors’ compliance with mandatory procedures and practices to adapt to evolving cyber threats.

What Is The CMMC Framework? The CMMC framework includes five cumulative certification levels:

  • Level 1 — Basic Cyber Hygiene:  It includes necessary cybersecurity for organizations utilizing a subset of universally accepted standard practices. This level involves the implementation of anti-virus software, strong passwords, and other standard security measures. Level 1 establishes a foundation for higher levels of cybersecurity and must be completed by all organizations.
  • Level 2 – Intermediate Cyber Hygiene: At level 2, more complex cybersecurity measures are introduced. Your organization is expected to develop and document standard procedures, strategies, and policies to guide the implementation of its cybersecurity program, and access to CUI will require multi-factor authentication.
  • Level 3 — Good Cyber Hygiene: For an organization to be assessed at level 3, they have to demonstrate good cyber hygiene and effectively implement security controls that meet the requirement of NIST SP 800-171.
  • Level 4 — Proactive:  At level 4, an organization has sophisticated and advanced cybersecurity practices. Processes at this level are periodically reviewed, appropriately resourced, and regularly improved. Additionally, defensive responses are fast, and there is a comprehensive knowledge of all cyber assets.
  • Level 5 — Advanced/Progressive: At this level, an organization has highly advanced and progressive cybersecurity practices and has demonstrated that its cybersecurity program can optimize its cybersecurity capabilities to repel ATPs. CMMC level 5 organizations are expected to ensure that process implementation has been standardized across their organizations.

What Is CMMC Compliance Certification? The continuance or initial awarding of DoD contracts will be dependent on CMMC compliance. No contractor will be allowed to receive or share DoD data without having completed the CMMC process, and at the time that their contract is up for renewal, contractors must be CMMC compliant.

While CMMC requirements were made public in 2020, all DoD suppliers have until 2025 to prove certification. The timeline for CMMC application and certification is at least six months.

Looking to Learn More About CMMC And How You Can Get Certified?

Colorado Computer Support offers years of experience and expertise in helping businesses in Colorado with compliance.

Consult with us today by calling us on 719-310-3035 | speak with our Online Chat Team.

Skip to toolbar